June 12, 2024

Watchever group

Inspired by Technology

UNC Health Southeastern announces top awards; honors teammates for 40 years of service


LUMBERTON — An infection Manage Supervisor Sherry Edwards was named the 2021 winner of the John D. Drake Distinguished Assistance Award and Pharmacy Director Eric Locklear was named the 2021 winner of the W. Reid Caldwell Jr., Distinguished Management Award for the duration of UNC Well being Southeastern’s once-a-year services awards banquet held June 16 in the medical center’s cafeteria.

6 teammates have been honored for 40 years of ongoing provider. They were being Pharmacy Tech Martha J. Ammons, Laboratory Supervisor Elizabeth Ammons, Gibson Most cancers Centre Secretary Janet Hester, Respiratory Therapist Cathy Jackson, Inpatient Clinical Assistant Alice Richardson, and Individual Access Supervisor Bernice Wilson.

“Sherry’s know-how and knowledge in the area of Infection Manage as nicely as standard overall health care is excellent,” said Dr. Joe Roberts, UNC Health Southeastern vice president and main clinical officer. “She advises overall health care professionals on all levels and roles as properly as speaks and teaches in the community.”

In January, Edwards acquired recognition from the North Carolina Health care Affiliation as a Health care Hero. The award acknowledges entrance-line Healthcare Heroes who, in the course of the COVID-19 pandemic, went earlier mentioned and further than the call of responsibility and their working day-to-working day work to make a difference for individuals, co-staff or inside of their communities.

Edwards is the 35th man or woman to be named winner of the Drake Award, which was founded by the board of trustees in 1988 to acknowledge remarkable support by workers. The Drake award was named in honor of the late John D. Drake, who retired as head cook in 1984 following 38 several years of service.

To qualify for the Drake award, an personnel will have to exhibit superior standards for own overall performance on the position, loyalty and dedication to the group, an outstanding attendance document, regard by fellow staff, leadership abilities, and a caring attitude to fellow employees and guests of the organization.

Edwards resides in Lumberton and has labored for UNC Wellbeing Southeastern for 29 a long time. She has a son, Benjamin.

Locklear has labored for the organization for 32 several years. To qualify for the Caldwell award, which was recognized in June 2016 in honor of previous Vice President and Federal government Affairs Officer Reid Caldwell, a UNC Wellbeing Southeastern leader ought to serve at the director level or increased with five or a lot more many years of provider and should exemplify the achievement of the mission, eyesight, values and expectations of behavior of the business even though serving as a mentor to other leaders, eradicating limitations and contributing to a learning and advancing firm.

“On a working day-to-working day foundation, Eric is reliable, sincere, and committed, but exactly where he actually shines as a chief is all through a crisis,” said Renae Taylor, UNC Wellness Southeastern vice president and main nurse executive. “John Maxwell states ‘the position to deal with a crisis is not from powering a desk but in front of the folks.’ This undoubtedly describes Eric’s leadership model throughout the aftermath of two hurricanes and a worldwide pandemic — in all a few cases, he was present every single working day and contributed to each individual process. All through the hurricanes, his spot formulated systems even when we had no computer records. Through the pandemic, he was the chief in education, acquisition, management and distribution.”

Locklear at first is from Pembroke. He currently life in Lumberton with his wife, Lenora. He has a person son, Hunter.

Edwards and Locklear have been presented a framed certification and an engraved clock as portion of their respective awards. Their names also will be additional to plaques that are permanently shown in the clinical center’s principal corridor.

Preceding winners of the Drake award were being: 1988, Julia Harris 1989, Addie Mae Caple 1990, Beatrice Leggett and Vashti Pittman 1991, Thelma Jean Reeves 1992, Paula McLean 1993, Shirley Thompson 1994, Sonya Oxendine 1995, Terry Carter 1996, Vera McDowell 1997, Jimmy Page 1998, James E. Jones 1999, JoAnn Falls and Myrtle Oxendine 2000, Patricia Davis 2001, Sherri Hayes 2002, Doris Madden 2003, Mary Catherine Buie 2004, Noel Bounds 2005, Cynthia George 2006, Rhonda Carter 2007, Anne Marie Hendren 2008, Myrtle Wilcox 2009, Audrey Cox 2010, Bryan Hilbourn 2011, Merry Hardin 2012, Gerard McRae 2014, Jeff Edge 2015, Lisa A. Hunt 2016, Lori Corbett 2017, Jeanine Lawson 2018, Phillip Knecht and 2019, Heather McQueen and 2020, Stephanie Smith.

Past winners of the Caldwell award ended up Elizabeth Kirschling, 2016 Cynthia George, 2017 Jonathan Everson, 2018 and Steve Elgin, 2019 Suzanne Jackson, 2020.


Source url